This is placeholder Text!

Before you read this articleyou will need to know the following terms and definitions: 

Game(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.
Expansion(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural.  An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.
Scenario(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.
Variant(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.


Hex Harvests

How Much Harvest?

Each eligible building type (adjacent to a harvest-hex, not an Outpost) reaps a different amount of harvest from a harvest-hex. Here is how to determine the amount of harvest your eligible building(s) receive:

  • Look at the shape of your building:
    • Each sloped (peaked) roof represents the harvest of a resource.
    • Each flat roof represents the harvest of a commodity.
  • Add up the roofs of each type:
    • If your building is eligible to harvest two or more resources, you must first select a resource card. Then, you may choose to receive the remaining resources either as resource cards or as resource tokens. You may not select commodity cards.
    • If your building is eligible to harvest two or more commodities, you must select the same number of commodity cards. You may not select resource cards or tokens.

Example: See Illustration J.  Loren, the blue player, has an eligible building. Her community (A) has one sloped roof, so it harvests one (1) resource card. On a later turn, Loren upgrades her community to a town (B). Her town replacement has both a sloped roof and a flat roof, so it harvests one (1) resource card and one (1) commodity card.

For more information on the amount of harvest each building is capable of, see the entries under Buildings.

What Type of Harvest?

Once you know how many resource cards, resource tokens, and commodity cards each of your eligible buildings will harvest, you must determine which type of harvest it receives. This is determined by the type of harvest-hex it is adjacent to.

Example: See Illustration J.  Frank, the green player, has an eligible building adjacent to a field hex. His Commercial City (A) has two sloped roofs and one flat roof, so it is eligible to harvest two (2) resource cards and one (1) commodity card. Instead of a second resource card, Frank chooses to take a resource token. Since Grain does not have a corresponding commodity card, Frank takes an additional resource card. In total, Frank receives two (2) resource cards and one (1) resource token.

You can use the chart below to determine exactly what you building will harvest. Find the harvest-hex type in the column on the left, then follow the appropriate row over to the column with the applicable type of harvest. If the column reads “N/A,” take the harvest from the column to the left.

Example: If your building is eligible to receive a commodity card, but the producing hex has no associated commodity, your building harvests another resource card instead.


Color: Hex Type: Wooden Token: Resource: Commodity:
Red Hill Brick Token Brick Card N/A
Yellow Field Grain Token Grain Card N/A
Brown Forest Lumber Token Lumber Card Paper Card
White Pasture Sheep Token Sheep Card Cloth Card
Grey Mountain Ore Token Ore Card Coin Card
Gold River Swamp Gold Bar Token Gold Coin N/A
2 for communities Pirate Lair Gold Bar Token Gold Coin N/A
3 for towns Mountain Spring Gold Bar Token Gold Coin N/A
4 for cities Volcano Gold Bar Token Gold Coin N/A
Black Oil Field Black Bag Token Oil Token N/A
? River Marsh Sheep Card Bog Iron Token N/A
Blue Fishing Spot Blue Fish Token Fish Token N/A
Tan Plantation Spice Bag Token Spice Card N/A


 All hexes whose production token matches the Production Number on the Event Card produce appropriate resources and commodities for each building adjacent to them.  Production for buildings bordering a producing hex depends on the type of terrain.  See Illustration J.

Any hex that is occupied by the Robber or Privateer does not produce any resources or commodities.

Each settlement produces ___

Example: See Illustration J.  Loren, the blue player, rolls a “4.” Her community “A” borders a Hill hex marked by the number “4,” so she takes a Brick resource card.  If community “A” had been a village, she would have received 1 Brick resource card and 1 Brick wooden token (because there is not Brick commodity).  Bridget owns the red settlement “B” that borders on 2 hexes with the number “4”: Hill and pasture.  Bridget takes 1 Brick resource card and 1 Wool card from the supply stacks.

It is possible that during the game there will not be enough resources/commodity cards/tokens in the bank to supply all of the yields.  If there are not enough resource/commodity cards/tokens to give every player all the production that they earn, then no player receives any of that resource/commodity card/token that turn.  Exception: If the shortage of resource/commodity cards/tokens only affects a single player, give that player as many of these resource/commodity cards/tokens as are left in the supply, and any extras are lost. In either case, production of other types of resources/commodities cards/tokens is not affected.

Example: In Illustration J above, the production number is “4.” Both Bridget, the red player, and Loren, the blue player, have communities bordering the Hill hex marked by the number “4.” However, there is only 1 Brick resource card left in the supply. Neither Bridget nor Loren receive a Brick resource card.  However, Bridget also owns the red settlement “B” that borders on the pasture hex with the number “4.”  Therefore, Bridget may take 1 Wool resource card from the supply stacks.




Commodity Production

  • If a city is adjacent to a Forest (Lumber/Paper), Mountain (Ore/Coins) or Pasture (Wool/Cloth) hex, whenever that hex produces resources, that player who controls that city has the option to draw two resources instead of a resource and a commodity.


  • During the hex production phase, if there are not enough cards of a given resource left in the bank to supply the entire requirement, then no one is given cards of that resource, even if there are a few cards to cover part of the requirement. The turn is then considered a non-harvest turn (similar to a “seven”), allowing players to receive Favor Tokens.
  • Commodity cards are considered part of the card count, can be stolen, and can be lost.
  • If a player is denied any resources or commodities on a dice roll (other than a "7") due to the robber being on a producing hex, should this qualify him to use the aqueduct benefit? Yes. The rules do not specifically mention this case, so we use the intention of the rules that "no resources" means "no resources" whether or not they are suppressed by the robber.


When a hex produces, the surrounding buildings harvest a mix of resource cards, commodity cards, cardboard tokens, and wooden tokens, depending upon their abilities (see flowchart below).

Players harvest Cards and Cardboard Tokens in the normal way.

In general, there are three methods of obtaining wooden tokens:

  1. Firstly, a person moving the robber or storm has the option of either drawing a random card from a player (as per the normal rules), or taking from the bank a wooden token that matches the terrain hex. This significantly increases the difficulty of deciding where to place the robber and storm. Because city walls exempt buildings from being robbed, taking a token rather than randomly drawing a card will probably become a more common occurrence as the game progresses.
  2. Secondly, a building with a built-on storage area will harvest one or more matching tokens when the production number is rolled (as long as the hex is not occupied by barbarians, robbers, or pirates).
  3. Lastly, if a player upgrades a city with a city wall, he may choose to do one of two things:
    1. The player may use the city wall to increase the number of cards he may safely hold on a roll of “seven” by two cards (as per the normal rules).
    2. The player may choose to instead harvest a wooden token, in addition to what the city normally harvests. This makes it more difficult deciding where to place city walls.

Note that there may be times (like near the end of a game), when the player would rather have all of his resources/commodities in cards for the ultimate privacy. For this reason, whenever a player qualifies to earn a wooden token, he may always take a matching card instead.  He may not, however, trade a token in a 1:1 trade for a card, even if the card is of the same resource/commodity as the token.  Therefore, players must decide ahead of time what ratio of tokens to cards they would like.


If, when the resource/commodity production is calculated, the requested number of a given type of token exceeds the balance in the bank, then none are distributed and all players must take cards instead. Of course, if the players really want tokens and can come to an agreement, they may elect to reduce the total demand for tokens by taking some cards instead, thereby allowing the bank to satisfy the remaining demand.

  • In Fishermen of Catan, a player can trade fish for resource cards, but not for tokens. A player spending fish to draw from another player may only draw from cards, not tokens.


Spice Production


You only receive a spice card:

  • When discovering a spice hex,
  • By trading with opponents,
  • In exchange for the 2 resources depicted on your trade option card,
  • Or by stealing a card from an opponent’s hand when playing a card or moving a villain.


All cards go directly into the player’s personal supply and are subject to monopolization, stealing, trading, and destruction by rolling sevens.  All cardboard tokens are placed face-up in front of the player, but cannot be stolen, traded, monopolized, or destroyed (commodity cards cannot be monopolized).  Depending upon the game play, the following may be done with wooden tokens:

  • They may be placed in front of the player, where they are spent like normal resource and commodity cards.
  • They may be placed onto the on-board storage areas, where they may only be spent if they are first transported across the board to the appropriate hex or intersection. In these scenarios, the player does not receive a wooden token if there is not an available on-board storage area.


Jump to the previous article!

Jump to the next article!


What Are You Looking For?

Would you like to join our playtesting team? Send us a message to get started!