This is placeholder Text!
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Game(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.|
|Expansion(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.|
|Scenario(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.|
|Variant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.|
All Future Occurrences After the First Barbarian Invasion
- After the first Barbarian Invasion and the first seven after that, a much shorter list of things occur on all future “sevens,” in the following order:
- No players harvest anything. No one is eligible to receive 1 Favor Token.
- Each player counts his resource/commodity cards (not progress cards, oil tokens, or development cards). Any player with more than 7 cards (i.e., 8 or more) must choose and discard half of them. Return discards to the supply stacks. If you hold an odd number of cards, round down (e.g., if you have 9 cards, you discard 4). Players who have built Walls or have special powers may be protected to a certain extent from this loss. Unprotected players (those without a sufficient number of castle walls or special powers to protect their card totals) must discard half of their resource and commodity cards (rounding down) if they have more than seven. They decide for themselves which half they wish to discard.
- All players may move their Personal warships, according to the rules in Thieves and Villains On each preceding seven, all players MUST move their pirate ships onto an adjoining sea hex, starting with the current player. In this way, the pirate ships slowly sail around the board, collecting tribute and blocking transportation.
- The current player may choose to move any two of the following villains (See Thieves and Villains below): He may not move the same villain twice, unless there are two of that villain (there are two Donkey Carts and two Blockade Runners).
- Donkey Cart
- Blockade Runner
- Black Pirate Ship
- Storm Hex
- The current player may move two barbarians who are currently on two different hexes on the board to two different hexes. They may not start on the same hex or end on the same hex. They may not end on any of the hexes they started on (they may not swap places).
- The grey Barbarian Advancement Token is advanced one space on the Barbarian Advancement Board. If the grey Barbarian Advancement Token reaches the final space on the Barbarian Advancement Board, another Barbarian Invasion occurs (see Barbarian Invasion below).
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!